Looking forward to January

I usually love Christmas, and December.  While I think I will enjoy the rest of the month, spending time with both sides of the family and my friends, this year I’m especially looking forward to establishing my new routine in a new place!  Unfortunately, with all the traveling and family gatherings and such, new routine won’t happen until next month.  That means January, the month I usually find dull and uninspiring, is actually a bright spot on my horizon this year.

I am also very angry all the time about everything surrounding the US election, but I don’t know how to deal with it.  I’m mostly ignoring it for now, which is not healthy or productive.  But, as I was discussing with my brother the other day, you can’t tell people how they are allowed to cope.  That includes me.  I am coping the best I know how for the moment.  I think having time and making a routine will help me figure out how to process the emotion.  And I hope to be able to move on to action.

But anyway, back to ignoring the anger and despair.

Goals for the New Year

  1. Get back into running – go to the gym 3-4 times a week, focus on getting stronger and keeping up my cardiovascular health.
  2. Figure out a page number goal for reading – instead of a number of books, I want to have a page number goal.  This will give me the flexibility to commit to longer books, or quit reading a book if I’m just not into it.  Also, I’m thinking about starting a reading blog and reviewing books, because I think that could be a nice side job for me someday, and after reading the requirements for several of these jobs, it looks like a book blog is a good way to start building a resume.
  3. Post at least once a week on this blog, and maybe on facebook – I hate facebook but it can be fun to post updates and keep my family and friends in the loop, so maybe I will do that.  But I absolutely want to post on here more often, and I’m going to begin some projects, such as writing about philosophy books, or atheist books, or Christian books that I can analyze.

Honestly, that’s all I have for now.  I may come up with more areas of focus as I really get settled here in Illinois.

I am so excited about getting back into writing and posting here, though!  And very excited to say that I will meet my goal to read 36 books this year!

Leave a Reply

